Rohit Sharma To Lead India In T20I Series vs NZ, Virat Kohli Rested

The Indian squad for the upcoming three-match T20I series against New Zealand was announced on Tuesday and Rohit Sharma has been named captain of the team. KL Rahul has been appointed vice-captain of the 16-member squad. Virat Kohli, who stepped down from India’s T20I captaincy at the end of the team’s campaign at the ICC T20 World Cup, has been rested for the three-match series.

“The All-India Senior Selection Committee has picked a 16-member squad for the upcoming T20I series against New Zealand. India are set to play 3 T20Is starting from 17th November, 2021,” a BCCI release stated.

The 16-member squad includes wicket-keeper batter Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Ishan Kishan, Ravichandran Ashwin and Bhuvneshwar Kumar. All these players were part of the T20 World Cup squad too. Deepak Chahar, Shreyas Iyer and Axar Patel, who were on the stand by list for the tournament, were also included in the team to take on the Blackcaps. New Zealand are still in the UAE, where they will take on England in the first semi-final on Wednesday in Abu Dhabi.

Leg-spinner Yuzvendra Chahal has been recalled to the side. Top order batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad, who was the top run-getter in IPL 2021 has also been included in the side. Harshal Patel, who finished IPL 2021 as the highest wicket-taker, has been included.


India’s T20I squad:Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Yuzvendra Chahal, R Ashwin, Axar Patel, Avesh Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Mohd. Siraj

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *