Vijay Hazare Trophy: Ishant, Shikhar Dhawan Star As Delhi Beat Vidarbha

File photo of Shikhar Dhawan© AFP

Veterans Ishant Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan contributed to Delhi’s five-wicket win over Vidarbha in their opening Vijay Hazare Trophy match on Saturday. Ishant (3/24) struck thrice as Delhi limited Vidarbha to 207 after opting to field in a Group B game. Ganesh Satish top-scored for Vidarbha with 45 off 74 balls. Delhi chased down the target in 44.5 overs with Dhawan making 47 off 64 balls. Lalit Yadav stayed unbeaten till the end with 56 off 73 balls.

Dhawan, who plays only in ODIs for India, will captain the national team in the three games in New Zealand later this month Batting at number three, Yash Dhull smashed 37 off 27 balls.

Brief scores: Vidarbha 207 all out in 47.2 overs (Ganesh Satish 45; Ishant Sharma 3/24, Navdeep Saini 3/64). Delhi 208/5 in 44.5 overs (Shikhar Dhawan 47, Lalit Yadav 56 not out). Delhi win by five wickets.


Other games in Group B Karnataka 259 in 50 overs (Shreyas Gopal 64, Mayank Agarwal 15; Abhishek Kumar 3/54). Meghalya 144 all out in 46 overs (Surya Rai 38; Shreyas Gopal 3/21). Karnataka win by 115 runs.

Jharkhand 309/3 in 50 overs (Virat Singh 75, Saurabh Tiwary 63 not out; Lee Yong Lepcha 2/38). Sikkim 116 all out in 40.1 overs (Sumit Singh 31; Rahul Shukla 5/19). Jharkhand won by 193 runs.

Topics mentioned in this article

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *